Skip to main content

Coventry Rugby has announced its squad for the fourth fixture of the 2022/23 Championship campaign, against Ealing Trailfinders on Saturday 1st October.

Following last week’s hard-fought victory over Ampthill, Alex Rae’s young 23-man squad will face another tough test against reigning champions Ealing, as we look to protect our perfect home record so far this season.

Suva Ma’asi and Jake Bridges are joined in the front row by Toby Trinder, who captains the side in place of the injured Jordon Poole, whilst James Tyas and George Smith continue their partnership in the second row, having started every Championship game together this campaign.

Tom Ball comes in at blindside flanker, in what is an otherwise unchanged back row from the clash against Ampthill, with Fred Betteridge (6) and Senitiki Nayalo (8) filling out the rest of the pack.

Young half-backs Fin Ogden and Evan Mitchell both start, and will be looking to trouble the experienced Ealing defence with their dynamism and creativity.

In the centres, Ollie Betteridge and Will Rigg continue their partnership after their successful Championship debuts, whilst Louis James (11), Will Talbot-Davies (14) and last week’s man-of-the-match Louis Brown (15) make up the back three.

Three front row replacements will look to add power from the bench in the form of Will Biggs, Ollie Andrews and Archie Maggs, with Frankie Read, on-loan from Bath along with Maggs, concluding the forward replacements.

Will Lane and Pat Pellegrini will bring yet more creative spark to the half-back positions, whilst Lucas Titherington and James Martin will provide cover in the centres and the backfield respectively.

Below is your full 23-man squad to face Ealing:

1.Toby Trinder (c) 2.Suva Ma’asi 3.Jake Bridges 4.James Tyas 5.George Smith 6.Fred Betteridge 7.Tom Ball 8.Senitiki Nayalo 9.Fin Ogden 10.Evan Mitchell 11.Louis James 12.Ollie Betteridge 13.Will Rigg 14.Will Talbot-Davies 15.Louis Brown

16.Will Biggs 17.Ollie Andrews 18.Archie Maggs 19.Frankie Read 20.James Martin 21.Will Lane 22.Pat Pellegrini 23.Lucas Titherington