Skip to main content

Coventry Rugby has announced its squad for the first fixture of the 2022/23 Championship campaign, against Bedford Blues under the Friday night lights at Butts Park.

Following the final pre season warm-up game against Bath Rugby a fortnight ago, Head Coach Alex Rae has named his season-opening 23-man squad for Friday’s league curtain-raiser.

Toby Trinder and Harry Seward are joined by club-captain Jordon Poole in the front row, whilst James Tyas will pack down next to George Smith in the engine room.

Senitiki Nayalo returns from injury to start at blindside flanker, in what is an otherwise unchanged back row from the Bath game, with Josh Bainbridge, at 7, and Fred Betteridge, at 8, filling out the rest of the pack.

Will Lane accompanies our Australian Pat Pellegrini in the midfield, with the half-back pairing looking to add both dynamism and control to proceedings.

Lucas Titherington and Will Wand start at inside and outside centre respectively, whilst James Martin, Will Talbot-Davies, and Louis Brown make up the back three.

Will Biggs, Danny Southworth, and Ollie Andrews are waiting in the wings to bring additional firepower to the front row, with the versatile Suva Ma’asi covering hooker as well as back row.  Tom Ball concludes the forward replacements.

Young half-backs Fin Ogden and Evan Mitchell will be looking to make an impact from the bench, whilst the electric Shea Cornish rounds-out Friday night’s squad. 

Gates open at 5pm, as does the club shop – which will be selling a range of training and leisure wear, as well as the new season’s replica home and away shirts.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Butts Park Arena on Friday evening.

Below is your full 23-man squad to face Bedford Blues:

1.Toby Trinder 2.Jordon Poole (c) 3.Harry Seward 4.James Tyas 5.George Smith 6.Senitiki Nayalo 7.Josh Bainbridge 8.Fred Betteridge 9.Will Lane 10.Pat Pellegrini 11.James Martin 12.Lucas Titherington 13.Will Wand 14.Will Talbot-Davies 15.Louis Brown

16.Will Biggs 17.Danny Southworth 18.Ollie Andrews 19.Suva Ma’asi 20.Tom Ball 21.Fin Ogden 22.Evan Mitchell 23.Shea Cornish