Skip to main content

Coventry Rugby has announced its squad to face Ampthill this Saturday.

Following last week’s hard-fought draw against a resilient Jersey Reds side at the BPA, Alex Rae’s men are on the road as they travel down to Dillingham Park.

Jordon Poole captains the XV from hooker, and is joined by Toby Trinder and Ollie Andrews in the front row.

Second-row stalwarts James Tyas and Adam Peters pack down in the engine room whilst Tom Ball starts at 6, in an otherwise unchanged back row.

Will Chudley will link up with the exciting Evan Mitchell in a halfback pairing which blends youth with experience, and will be key to unlocking the Ampthill defence.

The centre partnership of Will Rigg and Will Wand, who combine attacking power with defensive acumen, start together again in the midfield.

The starting XV is rounded out by an unchanged back three from last week’s game, with James Martin and Will Talbot-Davies on the wings, whilst Louis Brown continues at fullback.

Three front row replacements will look to add some power from the bench, in the form of Suva Ma’asi, Danny Southworth and academy- graduate Jake Bridges, whilst Rhys Thomas and Fred Betteridge round out the forward replacements.

Will Lane will look to make his impact from the bench at scrum-half, whilst Lucas Titherington and the electric Shea Cornish will provide cover in the centres and the backfield respectively.

Below is your full 23-man squad to face Nottingham

1.Toby Trinder 2.Jordon Poole (c) 3.Ollie Andrews 4.James Tyas 5.Adam Peters 6.Tom Ball 7.Josh Bainbridge 8.Senitiki Nayalo 9.Will Chudley

10.Evan Mitchell 11.James Martin 12.Will Rigg 13.Will Wand 14.Will Talbot-Davies 15.Louis Brown

16.Suva Ma’asi 17.Danny Southworth 18.Jake Bridges 19.Rhys Thomas 20.Fred Betteridge 21.Will Lane 22.Lucas Titherington 23.Shea Cornish