Skip to main content

Coventry Rugby has announced its squad for the third fixture of the 2022/23 Championship campaign, against Ampthill on Saturday 24th September.

Following last weekend’s trip to Jersey, Alex Rae’s 23-man squad are back at the Butts Park Arena as they look to rekindle their early-season momentum.

Suva Ma’asi replaces club-captain Jordon Poole at hooker, who unfortunately picked up a knock against Jersey. Ma’asi is joined in the front row by Toby Trinder and Harry Seward, whilst James Tyas continues his partnership with George Smith in the engine room.

Fred Betteridge (6), Josh Bainbridge (7) and Senitiki Nayalo (8) form an unchanged back row from last week’s fixture, with openside flanker Bainbridge taking the captain’s armband in place of the injured Poole.

Will Lane accompanies youngster Evan Mitchell in the half-back pairing, whilst Ollie Betteridge, making his Championship debut, and Will Rigg who does the same, look to add stability as well as creative spark to the midfield.

Louis James (11), Will Talbot-Davies (14), and Louis Brown (15) make up an exciting backfield trio.

Will Biggs, Ollie Andrews and Jake Bridge are waiting in the wings to bring additional firepower to the front row, with Frankie Read, on-loan from Bath Rugby, and Tom Ball concluding the forward replacements.

Fin Ogden and Pat Pellegrini will be looking to make an impact from the bench, whilst Lucas Titherington will provide cover in the centres and the back three.

Below is your full 23-man squad to face Ampthill:

1.Toby Trinder 2.Suva Ma’asi 3.Harry Seward 4.James Tyas 5.George Smith 6.Fred Betteridge 7.Josh Bainbridge (c) 8.Senitiki Nayalo 9.Will Lane 10.Evan Mitchell 11.Louis James 12.Ollie Betteridge 13.Will Rigg 14.Will Talbot-Davies 15.Louis Brown

16.Will Biggs 17.Ollie Andrews 18.Jake Bridges 19.Frankie Read 20.Tom Ball 21.Fin Ogden 22.Pat Pellegrini 23.Lucas Titherington