Skip to main content

OPEN side flanker Olly Povoas returns to Coventry’s starting line-up for tomorrow’s National League One game at Butts Park Arena against Ampthill & District.

Povoas replaces Sam Harry in a 20-man squad showing three changes from the one that recorded a first win at Blaydon last week.

Will Maisey comes off the bench to start at fly-half for Tony Fenner, who suffered a groin strain last week, while Pete White – returning from injury – and Cliffie Hodgson are named as backs replacements with Max Trimble dropping out.

Fenner is awaiting the results of a scan to ascertain the full extent of his injury.

“That will determine where it goes from here but, hopefully, it can be managed to enable him to play through to the end of the season,” said director of rugby Rowland Winter.

“Cliffie comes back into the squad as kicking and fly-half cover, and Pete takes Will’s bench place. Olly comes back in because we feel the game will be more suited to him.”

Acknowledged as having one of the biggest and strongest packs in the division, Ampthill have won nine of their away games this season and came out on top 22-8 when they entertained Cov in November.

Said Winter: “They are one of the most powerful and consistent sides in this league with a lot of big players up front and tidy backs.

“We had injuries down there which didn’t help, but we actually led – without at all dominating – until ten minutes to go when a couple of mistakes and catch-and-drives cost us dear.

“We hope to give a better account this time. They are one of the form sides in the league and will want to push on from where they are, but this is a good opportunity for us to put down a marker for next season by beating them.”

A reminder that kick-off is earlier than usual at 2.15pm, and Reward will provide live post-match entertainment in the main bar.


COVENTRY: 15 James Stokes, 14 Tom Howe, 13 Heath Stevens, 12 Tom Wheatcroft, 11 Rob Knox, 10 Will Maisey, 9 Sam Grasso, 1 Jimmy Litchfield, 2 Scott Tolmie, 3 Phil Boulton, 4 Tom Poole, 5 Tom Jubb, 6 Darrel Dyer, 7 Olly Povoas, 8 Freddie Tuilagi.

Replacements: 16 Matt Price, 17 Jake Byrne, 18 Brett Daynes, 19 Pete White, 20 Cliffie Hodgson.