Skip to main content

Pic (c) Nick Meredith

Leinster showed their strength in depth in the opening pre-season warm-up game against Coventry Rugby.

The reigning Pro 14 champions and 2019 Champions Cup finalists may have been without their Irish World Cup contingent, but the Dublin production line showed that it is far from slowing down in the amount of talent coming through.

The hosts scored in the 15th minute through Vakh Abdaladze, the prop going over from close range. Nine minutes later Leinster were in control, Josh Murphy and Adam Byrne both getting on the scoreboard, and when Henry Byrne rounded off his personal performance with a try to add to a perfect first half record off the tee after 32 minutes the Dubliners had a 28-point lead.

James Stokes scored a minute before the break, Will Maisey adding the extras, and Junior Bulumakau and Dan Lewis both dotted down for unconverted tries within three second half minutes of each other.

But by then Abdaladze had a second, Max Deegan had also scored, and Leinster’s grip on the result continued.

The 24 minutes following Lewis’s effort was the longest single period without a point as both sets of coaches used their replacements, and when Leinster finished things off with an unconverted Ronan Watters effort they headed off the field as 47-17 winners.

Coventry Rugby now head to Birmingham Moseley (Friday) and Blackheath (Saturday) in the next weekend of pre-season matches.



15 Cian Kelleher; 14 Adam Byrne, 13 Gavin Mullin, 12 Conor O’Brien, 11 Barry Daly; 10 Harry Byrne, 9 Rowan Osborne; 1 Peter Dooley, 2 Ronan Kelleher, 3 Vakh Abdaladze, 4 Ross Molony (capt), 5 Josh Murphy, 6 Martin Moloney, 7 Will Connors, 8 Ronan Foley


James Tracy, Michael Milne, Jack Aungier, Ryan Baird, Max Deegan, Patrick Patterson, Jimmy O’Brien, Liam Turner, Roman Salanoa, Ronan Watters, Rory O’Loughlin, Jack Kelly, Adam Le Grue, Rob Russell

Coventry Rugby

15 James Stokes; 14 Andy Bulumakau, 13 Heath Stevens (capt), 12 Will Owen, 11 Max Trimble; 10 Will Maisey, 9 Will Flinn; 1 James Gibbons, 2 Darren Dawidiuk, 3 Gareth Denman, 4 Scott Russell, 5 Alex Woolford, 6 Ben Adams, 7 Ben Nutley, 8 Senitiki Nayalo


Scott Tolmie, Toby Trinder, Phil Boulton, Luc Jeannot, James Voss, George Oram, Adam Peters, Luke Wallace, Jack Ram, Ryan Burrows, Tom Kessell, Pete White, Dan Lewis, Rory Jennings, Junior Bulumakau, Louis Beer