Skip to main content

Coventry Rugby bid a fond farewell to Tom Poole, Andy Brown, Matt Price, Brett Daynes

Coventry Rugby celebrated it’s annual end of season awards evening in front of a packed clubhouse with more than 150 people in attendance to commemorate the 2017/2018 season with contributions both on and off the pitch.

A sit-down meal was followed by numerous awards being handed out and the evening was all led by Coventry Rugby’s very own Club President Peter Rossborough.

After a season of record-breaking rugby, Coventry Rugby played in front of a record 3,758 fans on the final day of the season, won a club total of 27 games in a season, scored 1,213 points in a season, scored a club record of 183 try’s in a season, broke the record for most individual tries scored by a player, longest winning run of 16 games in a season, longest winning run overall of 24 games (February 2017 – January 2018), longest unbeaten run overall of 24 games (February 2017- January 2018), longest winning home run of 25 games (October 2016 – April 2018) and finishing 19 points clear of second-place Darlington Mowden Park.

Receiving the Players Player of the Season was hard-hitting flanker Jack Preece, whom has had a tremendous season in the forward pack and contributed immensely on and off the field this campaign.

Jimmy Litchfield and Alex Grove

After a brilliant breakthrough season, academy graduate Luc Jeannot was handed the Young Player of the Season award for his outstanding contributions when called upon in the first XV squad.

Club captain Phil Boulton picked up the Jack Blenkinsopp Trophy as Supporters Player of the Season after winning a career-first piece of silverware last Saturday.

Undoubtably, there were several tries scored this season, 183 to be precise, but full-back James Stokes won the accolade of Top Try Scorer with a career best of 21 tries this season, not only a personal record but a club one too.

The 26-year-old also picked up the Try of the Season award for this effort against Darlington Mowden Park on 24th February 2018.

Brian Gladstone, Harry Denton, Richard Evans, Roger Pulley, Ian Mitchell and Tony Lord all received the Clubmen of the year award for their outstanding contributions off the field this season.

Milestone achievements were awarded to Andy Brown, Rob Knox and Heath Stevens for gaining 100 caps for the club, as well as this Brett Daynes received an award for accumulating 150 caps in Blue and White.

Also, leavers presentations were handed to Jimmy Litchfield and Alex Grove, with extra presentations made to Andy Brown, Tom Poole, Matt Price and Brett Daynes as departing centurions who bid farewell to Butts Park Arena.

In addition special thanks were given to the backroom staff and medals were given out to all players who have played 1st XV rugby this season.

Captain Phil Boulton receives the Supporters Player of the Season.

Extra special presentations were made to club chairman Jon Sharp and team manager Tony Gulliver with assistant team managers Ron Kempin and Brian King also receiving awards.

Quent Melhuish from the supporters club gave a special award to Jon Sharp for his outstanding contribution, guidance and support to the club in what has been a phenomenal year.