Skip to main content

The Coventry team has been named to take on London Scottish in Round 9 of the 2021/22 Championship (KO 3.00 pm, Richmond Athletic Ground).

It’s been just under three weeks since Coventry’s last fixture against Nottingham. Director of Rugby Rowland Winter stated in his post-match interview for that game that the break may just be the “tonic we need” in order to build upon the improved performance.

It will be Louis Brown’s first game of the season after he picked up an injury during the second preseason fixture against Wasps. Winter commented, “it’s great to have Louis Brown back into the matchday squad, he has looked sharp in training over the last month and is raring to go”.

We see some new faces on the bench this weekend looking to make their debut for Coventry; who have been brought in to aid the injury wave that is still impacting Winters options for the matchday 23. He commented,“we welcome Max Williams from Dragons, who gives us more options in an area where we have lost Rhys Thomas until the new year along with the injuries to Tiki Nayalo, Josh Bainbridge, and Ryan Burrows.”

Winter is hopeful to have some other squad members rejoin the team shorty, explaining “Luc Jeannot is now back training but not quite ready to play, and with Dan Richardson picking up a knock, we’re thankful to Pete Walton & Gloucester for the support of Olly Adkins who comes onto the bench this weekend.” Joe Jones also on the bench this weekend, returns to the Coventry lineup having been recalled from his loan at Sale Sharks for this game.

“London Scottish have picked up form recently, and have an improved squad with some recent additions. We are also conscious that as a club we haven’t won a league game there for over 20 years” Winter concluded.

If you are unable to make it down to London, you can follow the action via the live Twitter feed @CoventryRugby or on the BBC CWR live commentary on the BBC website or app.


London Scottish vs Coventry Rugby

Richmond Athletic Ground

Saturday, November 26th, 2021.

Kick-off 3.00 pm.

15 Louis Brown; 14 Rob Stevenson; 13 Rob Knox; 12 Will Owen; 11 Louis James; 10 Evan Mitchell; 09 Joe Snow; 01 Toby Trinder, 02 Jordon Poole, 03 Phil Boulton (C), 04 Nile Dacres, 05 Jonathan Kpoku, 06 Adam Peters, 07 Aaron Hinkley, 08 Fred Betteridge.

16 Joe Richardson, 17 Olly Adkins, 18 Joe Jones, 19 Max Williams, 20 Tom Ball, 21 Josh Barton, 22 Tony Fenner, 23 Sam Aspland-Robinson.