Skip to main content

Rowland Winter has named the Coventry team that will travel to Stade Santander International to face Jersey Reds in Championship Round 11 (KO 3.00 pm, Stade Santander International).

There are three personnel changes and one positional switch from Cov’s last game against Bedford Blues in which the Blue-and-White’s edged a narrow one-point victory. Louis Brown, Toby Trinder and Jordan Poole all picked up small knocks in that game and are unable to be considered for this fixture – other players are still out on longer-term injuries.

Leicester Tigers’ Dan Richardson who has 6 caps for Coventry replaces Trinder at loosehead prop and Worcester Warriors’ hooker Dan Richardson replaces Poole.

Another Tiger loanee, Sam Aspland-Robinson reverts back to fullback with Brown out for this weekend with Rob Stevenson brought in to fill Aspland-Robinson place on the right wing.

Fred Betteridge remains at number 8 after having to replace Senitiki Nayalo last minute due to continuing injury issues.

Set to make his debut this weekend from the bench, Gloucester hooker Seb Blake has been training with the team for the past month and joins the matchday squad this weekend on the bench.

Senior Academy squad member Tom Ball replaces Betteridge’s original placement last week at number 20 for this weekend.

DoR Rowland Winter is positive about another challenging game on the weekend, commenting “We’ve had a really good week of training and the team have worked hard to prepare for what will be a really tough test away at Jersey. They are a good team that are in form at the moment and we will need to show all the character that was on display last week and more to be able to come home with any reward.”

You can follow the game online via our Twitter feed (@CoventryRugby) or via BBC Jersey’s live commentary on the BBC Sport website or app.


Jersey Reds vs Coventry Rugby 

Stade Santander International Arena

Saturday, December 11th, 2021.

Kick-off 3.00 pm.

15 Sam Aspland-Robinson; 14 Rob Stevenson; 13 Andy Forsyth; 12 Tom Griffiths; 11 Louis James; 10 Tony Fenner; 09 Josh Barton; 01 Dan Richardson, 02 Joe Richardson, 03 Phil Boulton (C), 04 Max Williams, 05 Jonathan Kpoku, 06 Adam Peters, 07 Aaron Hinkley, 08 Fred Betteridge.

16 Seb Blake, 17 Luc Jeannot, 18 Will Hurd, 19 Nile Dacres, 20 Tom Ball, 21 Joe Snow, 22 Evan Mitchell, 23 Rob Knox.