Skip to main content

Coventry Rugby have named their 32-man squad to face Birmingham Moseley in the Harry Walker Memorial match at Butts Park Arena on Saturday.

The Blue and Whites will boast many new faces in their matchday squad for this pre-season fixture which is being played in the memory of the late great Harry Walker. The game will be contested as a normal 80 minute match.

Walker sadly passed away at the grand age of 103 in June and was the oldest surviving England Rugby international, he was adored by all at Coventry Rugby and held a strong presence at the club over the years.

The Blue and Whites enjoyed two colossal victories over their near rivals last season in the title-winning season in National League One.

First an emphatic 50-11 victory at Butts Park Arena on the second game of the season, the Blue and white’s ran in eight tries to secure a huge start to the league campaign.

Coventry then completed the double in similar fashion with a 41-17 win at Billesley Common, scoring seven times over the whitewash.

Rowland Winter, Nick Walshe and Louis Deacon have handed debuts to new arrivals Charlie Beech, Scott Russell, Ben Adams, Junior Bulumakau, and David Halaifonua.

Fellow new signings James Gibbons, Darren Dawidiuk, Jack Ram, Ben Nutley, Tom Kessell, Jake Sharp, Andy Bulumakau, Tim Bitirim and Will Flinn will also feature during the match, as all are named as replacements.

Tonight’s Development XV game against bishop’s Stortford has been postponed until Tuesday 14th and will be played at Bishop’s Stortford RFC, 7:45 KO.

Starting XV |

15. David Halaifonua, 14. Rob Knox, 13. Heath Stevens (C), 12. Tony Fenner, 11. Junior Bulumakau; 10. Will Maisey, 9. Pete White; 1. Nathanael Titchard-Jones, 2. Scott Tolmie, 3.  Charlie Beech, 4. Nile Dacres, 5. Scott Russell, 6. Latu Makaafi, 7. Jack Preece, 8. Ben Adams

 Replacements |

Forwards | James Gibbons, Darren Dawidiuk, Phil Nilsen, Phil Boulton, Jack Higgins, Tom Jubb, Kailus Hutchinson, Jack Ram, Ben Nutley.

Backs | Tom Kessell, Jake Sharp, Louis Roach, Sam Tuitupou, Andy Bulumakau, Tim Bitirim, James Stokes, Will Flinn.